The Final Countdown – Dry January

OK,water_processing_plant so here I am with 4 days to go on my self-inflicted booze free month! Sipping a cool glass of sparkling water. How’s it going?  Generally very well. Sleeping like a baby! (tell the baby that keeps you up all night that he/she should sleep like one!) I love the clear-headed feeling every day and fresh alert feeling in the mornings, I love that my body feels healthy and detoxed to the max.

However, I have learned that I hate rules, even more annoying are  my own self inflicted rules because I can’t possibly break THOSE can I? I also now have a vow that all my friends and family are waiting to see with bated breath if I break or not. To be honest if it wasn’t for that, I may well have cracked by now. Of course ultimately I am doing it for myself, to start  healthier habits, to feel more zesty and vibrant, to prove a point to myself, hey, in truth I made the rules I can break them too if I really want BUT ultimately to let down those who believe in me would be the worst case scenario.

So here I am the last weekend behind me looking at 4 measly days left, I have resisted on New Years Day, family nights out, restaurant meals, stressful days at work, even my daughter emigrating for who knows how long, to go to New Zealand. But last night, on a plain old boring Sunday I have never wanted a glass of wine more! I hate rules and restrictions and the fact that I couldn’t have one  made me want it all the more.

However, and here is the great bit, once we reach Feb 1st and all restrictions are lifted, there are no more rules and I release myself from my contract, I will most likely say, you know what, I don’t even want a glass of wine! ‘Bring on the sparkling water’ or I might not, but I will have the choice and to have choices are a privilege and it will make me use those choices wisely.

7 thoughts on “The Final Countdown – Dry January

  1. I think it’s really great you’re doing this. Good work on sticking with it for a full month – I know it’s hard! I cut way down on drinking – from an average of 4 nights a week to maybe 1 time a month – as part of my quest to get healthier, and it has really had such a positive impact. I still enjoy a good glass of wine of course, but I love how much better I feel now than when I drank a lot.

Leave a Reply

